Meet an Ambassador: Michael Bobbitt

Posted on Updated on

Michael Bobbitt, Ph.D. Candidate in Counselor Education and Supervision
Michael Bobbitt, Ph.D. Candidate in Counselor Education and Supervision

Hello to all! My name is Michael Bobbitt, and I am a PhD student in the Counselor Education and Supervision program here at Western Michigan University. I currently teach the counseling techniques course here at WMU. Before coming to WMU, I was working as a provisional licensed professional counselor at a not-for-profit agency in Springfield, MO. During my time at this agency, I worked with individuals and couples dealing with depression, anxiety, relationship problems, and other difficulties. When I complete my program at WMU, I hope to teach at a counseling program and conduct research that focuses on counselor-in-training self-efficacy and natural disaster trauma.

When I am not at school, you can typically find me with a cup of coffee in my hand watching sports. I am originally from St. Louis, MO which means that I am a lifelong fan of the Cardinals, Blues, and Rams. My second home in Michigan is Lawson Arena, as I often cheer on the hockey team here at WMU. I also like to unwind by listening to music. My taste is music is pretty eclectic, as I can be found listening to anything from folk to metal.

Leave a Reply

