Finding My Place at WMU

Posted on

When I enrolled at Western Michigan University I wasn’t sure what professional direction I was headed. At the time I didn’t feel like I was doing what I wanted to be doing with the rest of my life using the degree I had from another college.

My WMU advisors took a genuine interest in helping me find my way. It was here at WMU that I found my true calling.  My colleagues in my field of study come from all types of backgrounds, races, religions and beliefs.  Though different in so many ways they have one thing in common.  They are some of the most giving people I have ever had the good fortune of meeting. Our field doesn’t generally produce millionaires but what the field doesn’t produce monetarily is made up in serving the people of our communities.

I was motivated to become a Graduate Student and then a Graduate College Ambassador because of the positive lasting impression that students AND faculty at Western Michigan University left on me. I am attempting to give back to the University, students and staff that have given me so much over the years.

Graduate School at WMU has afforded me the opportunity to become a responsible and ethical practitioner. What I have learned has provided me with a greater understanding of the internal dynamics of people and their communities.  I have formed new friendships, earned a top notch education as well as the opportunity to serve as a Graduate Ambassador, aiding prospective and current graduate students as a confidant, advisor and/or mentor. Because of Graduate School I am proud to say out loud, “Because I am one, I KNOW it’s a great day to be a Bronco.”

Benjamin Williams, Graduate Student & Graduate Ambassador, College of Education and Human Development

Leave a Reply

